Staying Alive in Blair’s Army

February 24, 2005


Predictably, the seven officer “jury” has convicted the two NCOs. Further prosecutions of British combat soldiers are pending for battle-related incidents. The Daily Telegraph reports the mood of the ranks.

There is likely to be anger that none of the officers involved in the illegal operation to capture looters and “give them a hard time” faced any charges and that all have since been promoted.

While waiting to jump ship, NCOs and men should decline to take orders they consider suspect, citing the European Convention on Human Rights. Here are some words for the moment – I’ll take advice and post better legalese ASAP.

You have ordered me to carry out acts that, in my opinion, may result in distress, harm or death, either to myself, to my colleagues or to others.

I understand that it is now British Army practice that my colleagues and I will be held liable for such consequences and that you will not; that my liability is indefinite; and that my liability will be determined by future political and legal developments that I cannot predict.

Accordingly, I assert my rights under Section I Articles 2, 3 and 5 of the European Convention on Human Rights and decline to comply with your order.

Signature:
Witnessed:
Date and time:


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.